The Irem Temple Motor Corps has been pleasing audiences and parade crowds since it was form on December 18, 1967 with thirteen charter members.

The Irem Motor Corps consists of 6 divisions:

  • The Hondas formed in 1967
  • The Dune Cats formed in 1971
  • The Harley Davidson’s formed in 1976
  • The Fire Truck formed in 1980
  • Muscle Cars
  • Antique & Classic Cars


Our unit has won many trophies in parades and in the Mid-Atlantic Association of Shrine Motor Corps Competitions at the annual Shrine convention.

Our Motor Corps joined the Mid-Atlantic Association of Shrine Motor Corps in June 1969. With many dedicated years of participating in competitions and parades we were fortunate to have had William Turnbaugh in 1978 and Robert Morgan in 1996 serve as President of the MAASMC.

One of our units most prestigious honors was to have 7 Potentates of Irem Temple. They were Dean W. Mertz 1969, Bernard E. Polt 1971, Alexander S. Hair 1973, Lawrence E. Pace 1975, Paul Shramm 1985, Kenneth E. Burkel 1993 and William A. Patton 2005.

One of our major accomplishments is performing in parades to benefit the Crippled Children. Our unit also participates in all capacities helping with the success of the annual Shrine Circus and we are proud that our own Motor Corps members Patrick Kelly, William Turnbaugh, John Harry and Robert Morgan have served in the past as the Circus Chairman.

Three or our members were President of Irem’s Uniform Units. They were Edward Herbert, Robert Morgan and Raymond Toney. Raymond Toney also served as Chairman of Irem’s largest Fund raiser the Irem Sports Raffle.

We are proud to have such a distinguished group of men with so many accomplishments and so much dedication. Many hours are spent maintaining our equipment, along with many more practicing to obtain the status we hold.

Although our membership is small, Irem Temple Motor Corps is recognized by other Temple units as being up to the task and a challenge when it comes to competition.

Irem Motor Corps Website